Advertisement
You are here: Home>Collections>New Chicago
IN THE NEWS

New Chicago

FEATURED ARTICLES
ENTERTAINMENT
July 25, 2013 | By Lisa Arnett, @redeyeeatdrink and Samantha Nelson and RedEye
Coffee is mandatory for many to start their day feeling human, but two new coffee shops - plus one more opening soon - are offering much more than just the basic cup. From a West Town cafe with a dog-friendly patio in the works to a Roscoe Village shop serving treats worthy of cronut-caliber obsession, these coffehouses have your caffeine fix covered and then some. Bad Wolf Coffee 3422 N. Lincoln Ave. 773-969-2346 Story: With gigs at Schwa and New York's Momofuku Ko on his resume, Jonathan Ory's roots may be in fine dining, but he recently switched gears to open this Roscoe Village coffee...
ARTICLES BY DATE
ENTERTAINMENT
May 28, 2014 | By Kate Bernot, @redeyeeatdrink and RedEye
The recent opening of Slippery Slope in Logan Square continues a springtime burst of new dance parties. Here's the lowdown on four of them:  Neo 51  at Sub 51 51 W. Hubbard St. 312-828-0051 When: Tuesday nights, 10:30 p.m.-2 a.m. What: Sub 51 teams up with NEO (New Enternet Order) for this dance party that aims to bridge the worlds of art, music, nightlife and fashion. The weekly party launched in April, and past DJs have included Million Dollar Mano, Stefan Ponce and The Cool Kids' Chuck Inglish.
Advertisement
ENTERTAINMENT
January 15, 2014 | By Samantha Nelson, @samanthanelson1 and For RedEye
Iced-over sidewalks and plunging temps are enough to drive even the wildest party animal into hibernation. With promise of bloody marys and hangover-helping hashes, these recently debuted weekend brunches make leaving the comfy confines of your couch a little more tolerable. redeye@tribune.com | @redeyeeatdrink Parson's Chicken & Fish 2952 W. Armitage Ave. 773-384-3333 Launched: Mid-December Dishes: The star of this Logan Square hangout's small brunch menu is the chicken and biscuits ($12)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 27, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Friday ***Kermit Ruffins and the Barbecue Swingers, Friday, Aug. 29 ($28-$48, all ages) at Space. ***Sam Smith, Monday, Sept. 22 ($35, all ages) at Riviera Theatre. ***Straight No Chaser, Sunday, Dec. 14 ($36.50-$54.50, all ages) at Chicago Theatre. On sale noon Friday ***Yelle, Saturday, Oct. 18 ($20-$23, 17+) at Bottom Lounge. On sale 10 a.m. Saturday ***Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Steve Winwood, Saturday, Aug. 23 ($51.50-$131.50, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
February 14, 2012 | By Matt Pais and RedEye Sound Board
***= Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Wednesday Jake Sucher Quartet, Montzka Moulder and Arnopol, Chris Siebold Band, Spare Parts, Sunday, March 11 ($15, 21+) at Martyrs'. Kasim Sulton, Saturday, May 5 ($15-$20, 21+) at Martyrs'. This Must Be the Band, Tributosaurus, Tuesday, March 20 ($15, 21+) at Martyrs'. Toubab Krewe, Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad, Friday, May, 11, Saturday, May 12 ($16, 21+) at Martyrs'. On sale noon Friday The Cribs, Monday, April 9 ($20, 21+)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 6, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday The Bangles, Sunday, July 27, Monday, July 28 ($55-$75, all ages) at City Winery. ***Blitzen Trapper, Parkington Sisters, Tuesday, June 10 ($16-$26, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday Miley Cyrus, Thursday, Aug. 14 (49.50-$89.50, all ages) at United Center. Miranda Lambert, Justin Moore, Thomas Rhett, Jukebox Mafia, Friday, Aug. 15 ($29.25-$54, all ages) at First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre. ***Robyn, Royksopp, Sunday, Aug. 24 ($25-$59.50, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 15, 2012 | By Matt Pais and RedEye Sound Board
***=  Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Friday Chicago, The Doobie Brothers, Saturday, July 28 ($39.50-$125, all ages) at Charter One Pavilion. On sale noon Friday ***Alberta Cross, Everest, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Thursday, July 5 ($14, 18+) at Lincoln Hall. Bunny Gang, Wednesday, Aug. 8 ($12, 21+) at Schubas. Spoek Mathambo, Wednesday, July 18 ($15, 21+) at Lincoln Hall. On sale 10 a.m. Saturday Joe Jackson and the Bigger Band, Friday, Sept.
ENTERTAINMENT
December 4, 2013 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
 On sale 10 a.m. Friday   Journey, Steve Miller Band, Tower of Power, Saturday, July 12 ($36-$156, all ages) at First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre.   On sale noon Friday   Andrew Belle, Diane Birch, Wednesday, March 5 ($15, 21+) at Lincoln Hall.   Com Truise, Friday, Feb. 14 ($13, 18+) at Lincoln Hall.   Andy Daly, Saturday, March 8 ($15, 21+) at Schubas.   Lily and Madeleine, Saturday, Jan. 26 ($12, all ages) at Schubas.   Andrew Ripp, Judah the Lion, Thursday, Feb. 13 ($12, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
January 7, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
*** = Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday ***JC Brooks, Monday, Feb. 3 ($10-$25, all ages) at City Winery. ***Mike Doughty, Wednesday, March 12 ($22-$32, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday ***Childish Gambino, Wednesday, March 19 ($35, all ages) at Riviera Theatre. On sale noon Friday Chromeo, Monday, May 5 ($30, 18+) at Lincoln Hall. Alejandro Escovedo, Peter Buck, Saturday, Feb. 22 ($27.50, 21+) at Lincoln Hall. Future Islands, Wednesday, March 26 ($17, 18+)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 20, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Wednesday Hozier, James Bay, Sunday, Oct. 26 ($20, 18+) at Metro. On sale 10 a.m. Friday Bonobo, Falty DL, Friday, Sept. 19 ($21, 18+) at Metro. On sale noon Friday The Blisters, New Leverage, Thursday, Aug. 14 ($10, all ages) at Schubas. Dana Buoy, Aero Flynn, Wednesday, Aug. 6 ($10, 21+) at Schubas. Com Truise, Saturday, Sept. 20 ($18, 18+) at Lincoln Hall. Il Sogno del Marinaio with Mike Watt, Tuesday, Sept.
ENTERTAINMENT
May 20, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Wednesday Hozier, James Bay, Sunday, Oct. 26 ($20, 18+) at Metro. On sale 10 a.m. Friday Bonobo, Falty DL, Friday, Sept. 19 ($21, 18+) at Metro. On sale noon Friday The Blisters, New Leverage, Thursday, Aug. 14 ($10, all ages) at Schubas. Dana Buoy, Aero Flynn, Wednesday, Aug. 6 ($10, 21+) at Schubas. Com Truise, Saturday, Sept. 20 ($18, 18+) at Lincoln Hall. Il Sogno del Marinaio with Mike Watt, Tuesday, Sept.
ENTERTAINMENT
May 13, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday Ginger Baker's Jazz Confusion, Monday, June 23 ($40-$55, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday ***Lily Allen, Tuesday, Sept. 30 ($28.50, all ages) at Riviera Theatre. Jeff Daniels, The Ben Daniels Band, Friday, Aug. 22 ($25-$45, all ages) at Space. Kasabian, Wednesday, Oct. 1 ($25, 18+) at Metro. ***Robert Randolph and the Family Band, Thursday, June 26 ($25, 18+) at Park West. Us the Duo, Friday, July 11 ($15-$18, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 6, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday The Bangles, Sunday, July 27, Monday, July 28 ($55-$75, all ages) at City Winery. ***Blitzen Trapper, Parkington Sisters, Tuesday, June 10 ($16-$26, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday Miley Cyrus, Thursday, Aug. 14 (49.50-$89.50, all ages) at United Center. Miranda Lambert, Justin Moore, Thomas Rhett, Jukebox Mafia, Friday, Aug. 15 ($29.25-$54, all ages) at First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre. ***Robyn, Royksopp, Sunday, Aug. 24 ($25-$59.50, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
April 29, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday ***Bilal, Thursday, June 5 ($28-$38, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday ***Beyonce, Jay-Z, Thursday, July 24 ($40.50-$251, all ages) at Soldier Field. Toby Keith, Sunday, July 13 ($24.25-$89, all ages) at First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre. Bob Schneider, Dawn and Hawkes, Saturday, July 19 ($20, 18+) at Park West. On sale noon Friday Asgeir, Thursday, June 12 ($12 , 21+) at Schubas.
ENTERTAINMENT
April 8, 2014
***= Recommended shows On sale 9 a.m. Friday Celtic Thunder, Sunday, Nov. 30 ($32.50, all ages) at Chicago Theatre. On sale 10 a.m. Friday O.A.R., Phillip Phillips, Saturday, June 21 ($42.50, all ages) at FirstMerit Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island. Blake Shelton, The Band Perry, Dan + Shay, Neal McCoy, Saturday, July 19 ($45.75-$89.75, all ages) at Wrigley Field. ***Jack White, Benjamin Booker, Wednesday, July 23 ($49.50-$75, all ages) at Chicago Theatre, Thursday, July 24 ($45-$75, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
April 8, 2014 | By Lisa Arnett, @redeyeeatdrink
> > Read up on the 10 hottest coming-soon rooftops and patios in Chicago for summer 2014 and see these new patios mapped by neighborhood .   Green Street Smoked Meats 112 N. Green St. 312-754-0431 Upon arrival at this West Loop barbecue bar, send a friend to order pitchers at the bar while you order food at the counter; whoever gets done first can stake out one of 100 seats at the wood communal tables outside. ETA: Open now, weather permitting We're picturing: Splitting pitchers of beer and downing pulled pork with friends Rosie's West Town Deli ...
ENTERTAINMENT
November 6, 2012 | By Matt Pais and RedEye Sound Board
 *** = Recommended shows On sale 9 a.m. Thursday ***Mike Doughty, Monday, Dec. 10 ($22-$30, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday The Steepwater Band, Paige and the Reverent Few, Monday, Dec. 31 ($20-$25, 21+) at House of Blues Backporch stage. On sale 5 p.m. Friday The Flat Five, Monday, Dec. 31 ($15-$35, all ages) at Space. On sale 10 a.m. Saturday Dada, Saturday, Feb. 9 ($25, 18+) at Park West. On sale now The Fab Faux, Saturday, Jan. 12 ($46-$126, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
May 29, 2012 | By Matt Pais and RedEye Sound Board
***=  Recommended shows On sale 5 p.m. Friday Billy Boy Arnold, Friday, Aug. 10 ($15-$27, all ages) at Space. Tab Benoit, Thursday, Aug. 9 ($24-$40, all ages) at Space. Elizabeth Cook, Tim Carroll, Wednesday, Aug. 22 ($15-$28, all ages) at Space. Caleb Hawley, Theo Katzman, Wednesday, Aug. 8 ($10-$18, all ages) at Space. Lera Lynn, Ernie Hendrickson, Tuesday, Aug. 7 ($10-$18, all ages) at Space. Michael Smith, Anne Hills, Sunday, Aug. 26 ($15-$27, all ages)
ENTERTAINMENT
April 1, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
*** = Recommended shows On sale noon Thursday ***Booker T., Sunday, May 4 ($40, all ages) at City Winery. ***Ginger Baker's Jazz Confusion, Monday, June 23 ($40-$55, all ages) at City Winery. On sale 10 a.m. Friday 311, Friday, July 11 ($22.50, all ages) at FirstMerit Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island. Avenged Sevenfold, Korn, Asking Alexandria, Trivium, Cannibal Corpse, Body Count, others, Sunday, July 20 ($29.50-$79.50, all ages) at First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre.
ENTERTAINMENT
March 25, 2014 | By Matt Pais and RedEye music editor
***= Recommended shows On sale 10 a.m. Wednesday Lollapalooza, Friday, Aug. 1, Saturday, Aug. 2, Sunday, Aug. 3 (one-day passes $100; three-day passes sold out) at Grant Park. On sale 10 a.m. Friday Gabrielle Aplin, Tuesday, May 13 ($15, 18+) at Schubas. Dark Star Orchestra, Friday, June 27 ($25, 18+) at Park West. Jerry Garcia Symphonic Celebration featuring Warren Haynes, Tuesday, May 20 ($38.50-$103.50, all ages) at Chicago Theatre. M.I.A., A$AP Ferg, Thursday, May 1 ($35, 18+)
RedEye Chicago Articles
|
|
|