Facebook releasing "Look Back" videos for deceased users

February 21, 2014|By Mick Swasko, @swasko | RedEye

Dead users' Facebook profiles won't be private anymore. 

In an announcement Friday, Facebook announced "memorial" pages for deceased users would no longer become private and only accessible by friends. Instead, the company said, privacy settings they chose before their death would be kept. 

"Starting today, we will maintain the visibility of a person's content as-is," the company said in an announcement. "This will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person's expectations of privacy."

Additionally, the company said it would begin taking requests for deceased users "Look Back" videos. The videos were part of Facebooks 10th anniversary, which gave a 1 minute video rundown of their activity on the site.

The company said it is able to make the videos for dead users using the content and activity they posted on the site before their death. 

Want more? Discuss this article and others on RedEye's Facebook page

RedEye Chicago Articles
|
|
|