You are here: Home>Collections>Redeye

Meet the RedEye staff

  • RedEye editorial staff. Not pictured: Kyra Kyles, Matt Pais
RedEye editorial staff. Not pictured: Kyra Kyles, Matt Pais
April 15, 2011

Editorial staff

Jessica Cantarelli
Digital Producer, Editor
jcantarelli@tribune.com
Hometown: Hoffman Estates, IL
Current Home: East Ukrainian Village
What's great about Chicago? The accents and the pizza
I'm the one on the staff most likely to... cry laugh
 
Rex Chekal
Designer
rchekal@tribune.com
Hometown: Belle Plaine, IA
Current home: Andersonville
I'm the one on the staff most likely to: Test the alarm on the defibrillator (it works)
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Eat and drink outside
The one item always in my fridge is: Sriracha

Georgia Garvey
Reporter/assistant editor
ggarvey@Tribune.com
@gcgarvey
Current home: Evanston 
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Eat food 
I could have any superpower, it'd be: The ability to create a free, legal parking space at will
Most embarrassing song on my iPod: "Love And Affection" by Nelson

Mike Hines
Deputy news editor
mhines@tribune.com
@givemetexture
Hometown: Portland, Oregon
Current home: Lakeview
I'm the one on the staff most likely to: Start telling a joke and then forget the punch line
Best headline I ever came up with: The one that wasn't too offensive to use in print? "No shirt, Sherlock"
Most embarrassing song on my iPod: "Into the Night" by Benny Mardones. You know, the one that starts, "She's just 16 years old, leave her alone, they say."

Dana Kavan
Deputy digital editor
dkavan@tribune.com
@ChicagoDana
Hometown: Omaha, Nebraska
Current home: North Center
I'm the one on the staff most likely to ... have three boxes of cereal at my desk.
The one item always in my fridge is: Hot sauce
Hidden talent: I can watch a movie a million times and never remember its plot. Really? Bruce Willis is dead the whole movie? It gets me every time.

Trent Koland
Graphic Designer
tkoland@tribune.com
facebook.com/TJKoland
Hometown: Newton, Kansas
Current home: Lakeview
I'm the one on the staff most likely to ... make a (bleeping) offensive joke.
You'd never catch me ... asking Charlie Sheen which porn star to hit up.

Brian Moore
Website editor
brmoore@tribune.com
@redeyesportsguy
facebook.com/redeyesports
AIM: spicyeditor
Hometown: Greenwood, Ind.
Current home: Brookfield, Ill.
I'm the one on the staff most likely to: Require a hazardous materials cleanup after a Tabasco sauce spill in my cubicle.
 Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Outrun CTA buses on my bike.
Hidden talent: Can raise three kids while keeping my sanity.
  
Dana Moran
Copy editor
damoran@tribune.com
Hometown: Bellingham, Wash.
Current home: Lakeview
The best headline I ever came up with: Silent But Deadly. Sorry, George Clooney, I still love you!

Matt Pais (pronounced "Pace")
@MattPais
mpais@tribune.com
RedEye movie critic
Hometown: Deerfield, Ill.
Current home: Wicker Park
What's great about Chicago? BYOB. Preferably with sushi.
What's not great? Public transportation. If you're going to make announcements, please give us actual information, and do it in a way we can understand. Thanks.

Mike Rich
Design/Photo editor
@MrMikeBike
Hometown: Kent, Ohio  
Current home: Hyde Park
I'm the one on the staff most likely to... lock myself out of my house twice in two minutes
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: riding my bike to various sandwich eating destinations
Most embarrassing song on my iPod: Party in the USA

Victoria Rodriguez
Designer
vickytwin1@gmail.com    
Hometown: Chicago
Current home: Logan Square

Chris Sosa
Sports editor
chsosa@tribune.com
@sayitissosa
Hometown: Chicago (South Side)
Current home: Oak Park
The one item always in my fridge is: Lemonade. Summer, winter -- it's all good.
I'm the one on the staff most likely to ... play 18 holes of golf before work
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Take in a Sox game


Sara Stewart
Designer
sstewart3@tribune.com
Hometown: Fremont, Nebraska
Current home: West Town
Hidden talent: I can break anything electronic by just looking at it.
I'm the one on the staff most likely to: Sew my own clothes
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Bike to brunch on a patio

Leonor Vivanco
Reporter
lvivanco@tribune.com
@lvivanco
Hometown: Chicago
Current home: Lakeview
I'm the one on the staff most likely to: Watch reality TV shows, gossip about celebrities and snack all day on candy
Hidden talent: Knowing random song lyrics
Most embarrassing song on my iPod: Any Ke$ha song -- I'm sorry but her stuff is so freakin' catchy

Curt Wagner
Features editor / TV columnist
cwwagner@tribune.com
@showpatrol
Facebook: Show Patrol TV
Hometown: Norfolk, Nebraska
Current home: West Ridge
Hidden talent: I cannot say.
If I could have any superpower, it'd be: Making money or teleporting
The one item always in my fridge is: Dill pickles

Jim Walsh
News editor
jxwalsh@tribune.com
@jxwalsh
Hometown: Chicago
Current home: Bucktown
You'd never catch me ... wearing jean shorts. Wait, that's not true.
Favorite thing to do in Chicago: Be outside in the summer
The one item always in my fridge is: Mustard

RedEye Chicago Articles
|
|
|